AmeriCorps service will give you more than you can ever possibly put in

Katelyn Noah, shortly after accepting her AmeriCorps position with Iowa Legal Aid, prior to graduating from ISU.

When the COVID-19 pandemic hit, Katelyn Noah kept doing what she had been doing since her AmeriCorps service term with Iowa Legal Aid began in September: serving Iowans.

Iowa Legal Aid makes hope, dignity and justice available to low-income Iowans through legal assistance and education that protects fundamental rights, basic necessities and access to the judicial system; challenges policies and practices that harm low-income persons; and empowers clients to advocate effectively for themselves and their communities.

As an AmeriCorps member, Katelyn spent her time on the nonprofit’s Volunteer Lawyers Project program and their Hotline for Older Iowans program. She helped determine whether or not Iowans calling Iowa Legal Aid asking for help could, in fact, be served by the organization. If they could, Katelyn would then pass along the information to an Iowa Legal Aid attorney.

It is here that Katelyn mentions a notable takeaway from her term of service, “I got more out of my service than I gave.”

This is a common theme for AmeriCorps alums. Whether it is in interviews, in post-service surveys, or in general conversation, individuals who serve in AmeriCorps will tell you, overwhelmingly, that their service term gave back to them more than they ever gave to the program.

In reality, no matter where or how they serve, AmeriCorps members will inherently receive more from their term than they can give because spending time serving and supporting others has incredible benefits. When you are actively taking part in solving issues for people, you feel empowered and gain a confidence boost in your abilities to make real change in the world. When you serve, you are gaining a deeper understanding of the world around you.

It is that last aspect that Katelyn agrees with most.

“Even the people we could not help, I heard that person’s story. Many times, I was the only person they told that story to. And most of them were heavy. It was so enlightening and eye-opening to hear different perspectives from people who lived just a few minutes from where I live. I learned so much more about where I grew up by listening to the stories of people who are struggling. It is hard to remember every single case, but I remember how they made me feel. ‘Enlightening’ doesn’t do my service term justice.”

While gaining a better understanding of the surrounding world is what Katelyn believes was the most important takeaway from her service, there were plenty of others worth noting. For one, while in law school, she was able to have a unique perspective separate from many of her peers.

“Law school is difficult and stressful, but because I had the AmeriCorps experience beforehand, I could see the bigger picture and know why my schoolwork mattered. By doing well there, I would be able to serve future clients more thoroughly and effectively. My studies meant more to me because I saw all the good I would be able to do with it.”

Secondly, having the AmeriCorps experience ensured that her heart was in public interest work.

“I did the opposite of the norm; I was pretty sure I wanted to do public interest because of my service but needed to dip my toes into private practice to confidently cross it off my list. I wanted to be sure I wouldn’t love something else more than I loved public interest. It gave me flexibility in what I could experience while at law school.”

What else did Katelyn learn from her service? Resilience, strength, and grace from her clients; how to cope with extremely stressful situations; what a kind, capable, and passionate lawyer looks like; that working side-by-side with like-minded individuals creates extraordinary, personal bonds. All this, when combined with the fantastic coworkers she had while serving, made taking a job with Iowa Legal Aid upon graduating from law school an easy choice.

At the end of the day, Katelyn wants people to understand that AmeriCorps is an opportunity to learn about the world, and your place in it. “AmeriCorps is a life primer that really helps you determine what you want to do with your life. We shouldn’t always pay attention to all the pressures telling us to go do this or that or be successful this way or that way. Success comes from your heart and choosing to serve—spending time helping others—will help you find that kind of success. I could not have made a better decision for myself, even though it was a decision to benefit others.”

Leave a comment