Iowa Commission on Volunteer Service – Learning + Giving = Growth

Special Guest Contributor Nancy Franz, former Commissioner with Volunteer Iowa

I grew up singing, “If you’re happy and you know it clap your hands.” As an Volunteer Iowa Commissioner I have been clapping non-stop for six years and shout “bravo” often. I am compelled by the mission of public service, the work of helping volunteering soar in Iowa, and the impact of making Iowa a superb place to live, work, and play. As a Commissioner I have most enjoyed growing as a professional, as a person, and helping the organizations I work with grow and thrive. This growth has come from learning through giving to the people of Iowa through volunteer service.  

Volunteer Iowa is blessed with exceptional paid staff. They are the ultimate professionals with strong competence, and caring that makes them very impactful. The Commission is also lucky to have a full cadre of Commissioners who are influential, supportive, committed, and volunteer role models.

My time with Volunteer Iowa flew by as the staff and Commissioners quickly learned how to match my interests, skills, and experiences with statewide and national service needs. I especially enjoyed serving as a volunteer program evaluator and research/evidence base advisor. I have fond memories of people embracing the logic model for program development and evaluation, useful program evaluations, fun filled workshops, and helping “Iowa sense” inform federal granting requirements.

Most importantly, my experience as a Volunteer Iowa Commissioner has improved my volunteering and the volunteer development of the organizations I work with. We are all better together in serving Iowans.

I urge all Iowans to volunteer in their own ways and in their own time to help us all grow, clap our hands, and shout bravo! I hope you will join Volunteer Iowa as a Commissioner someday.

The team at Volunteer Iowa would like to thank Nancy again for her service as a Commissioner over the past six years. (Photo is of Nancy accepting a certificate in recognition of her many years of service to the Commission.)

Leave a Reply

